Joerg Wamser - Managing Director & Founder

Joerg started his professional career in 2002 at the BMW Group. After his MBA studies he joined Fraunhofer Venture, the technology transfer organization of the Fraunhofer Gesellschaft. In 2010 he became founder and managing director of the Max-Planck spinoff company KonTEM, that pioneered in the field of phase plate systems in cryo electron microscopy. In 2014, KonTEM was acquired by FEI Company, a NASDAQ-listed leading electron microscope manufacturer which was then acquired by Thermo Fisher. Joerg holds a Master of Business Administration (MBA) from Harvard University and a degree in Industrial Engineering from Munich University of Applied Sciences.


Prof. Dr. Holger Stark - Founder

In 1997, Holger graduated with a Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the Fritz-Haber-Institute in Berlin. After assignments at Imperial College London and at the University of Marburg, he became reasearch group leader at the Max-Planck-Institute of Biophysical Chemistry (MPIBPC) in Goettingen in 2000. Since 2008 he is also Professor for molecular cryo electron microscopy at the University of Goettingen. In 2015, he was appointed as a Director at the MPIBPC. He received numerous awards for his research, amongst others the Ernst-Ruska award.


Dr. Ashwin Chari - Founder

Ashwin studied Biology at ETH Zurich, with specialization in Biochemistry, Molecular Biology and Biophysics. Subsequently, he obtained his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Wuerzburg. From 2010 to 2016 he was a DFG project group leader in the lab of Holger Stark in Goettingen. Since 2016, he is heading the project group "Structural Biochemistry and Mechanisms" at the MPIBPC.


Dr. David Haselbach - Method development


Dr. Jan-Martin Kirves - Method development


Dr. Jan-Erik Schliep - Method application







Joint press release with NovAliX, 27th March 2018

"NovAliX enters into cooperation agreement with ProteoPlex"

Press release EMBL,

4th Aug 2016:

"Every atom counts"

EMBL Science,

8th Aug 2016:

"Blocking the cell's waste disposal unit"